Surprise! Photo Radar Trailer Malfunctions Caught on Video


Be careful what you wish for, or you might just get it. The residents in the area of the 11600 block of southbound Bullard Avenue of Surprise, AZ are now regretting their requests for photo enforcement. Monday was the first day of issuing tickets from Redflex’s new photo enforcement trailer for the City of Surprise. The residents didn’t anticipate the controversy that comes with photo enforcement, and the fierce support for CameraFraud’s efforts that accompanies our protests in the form of honking, as well as the loud noise caused by the generator inside of the unit, in addition to the extra, random flashes of light all hours of the day.

But Surprise citizens and visitors also got something they weren’t expecting: photo enforcement lottery tickets! It turns out that you never know if the trailer is working or not. During the day-long protest, we observed at least a hundred false flashes with no cars around as well as some cars that were going fast that did not get flashed and others that were going slow or creeping along that did get flashed. We didn’t have a radar gun to definitively check speeds; however, we captured 3 incidences on video where the cameras flashed for absolutely no reason.

We can’t blame the police. They don’t own, operate, or maintain the equipment. They are under contract with Redflex who has full responsibility for operating and maintaining the equipment, and who gets a cut of every ticket issued. No wonder it goes off so much! Redflex is paid to gather evidence for the police to issue citations for non-commercial vehicle owners exceeding the posted limit. Think of it as a private investigator, but without the license! But when we informed the police who stopped by to check in our protest, they didn’t seem to be concerned. I guess that’s one of the perks of outsourcing your job to another entity.

If you live in Surprise or drive through Surprise, contact the Surprise police department and let them know that you are concerned about being caught by a malfunctioning machine and ask them how they know it’s working properly. You can email police@surpriseaz.gov or call 623-222-4000.

22 Responses to Surprise! Photo Radar Trailer Malfunctions Caught on Video

  1. photoradarscam says:

    One more thing I observed…
    The trailer runs off of batteries most of the time, so it is quiet. Then when it runs out of of battery, the generator kicks on and charges the battery. The generator was running over 80 minutes when I left, not sure how long it takes to charge the batteries. But during that 80 minutes, the cameras didn’t flash once. I believe but I cannot confirm that the trailer is non-operational when the generator is running.

  2. Beau Jangles says:

    Looks like they were taking test shots, probably because you were standing so close to it.

    • Sure, they need file photos of us and just about everyone else who is walking down the sidewalk along with all the trees and bushes.

    • photoradarscam says:

      They don’t need hundreds of test shots, and they don’t need pictures of us. Additionally, the primary cameras are not pointed to the place from which the video was taken.

  3. alucard says:

    One would think that this type of photo radar setup would be quite vulnerable to vandalism. It illustrates beautifully the problems of radar — readings obtained even with no traffic around. I seem to recall a report where a tree was “clocked” at 72 mph with a radar gun.

    • photoradarscam says:

      You’re right, it is. But it does have a surveillance and security system. But like any camera, it’s easily defeated with a mask or disguise. I don’t want to give anyone any ideas, but it might take a while to notice a sticky note on the camera pointed “downstream,” particularly if it was a dark colored sticky note… And then of course, it would be ashamed if something ended up in the exhaust pipe.

  4. Lorna Barklow says:

    I received a ticket by this type of machine on Grand Ave. I read & heard many times last few days of NO tickets until Monday. I want to know more about this as they ARE TICKETING ME!!! I DON’T WANT TO HAVE TO PAY EITHER!!!! Say just a warning until Mon.—-then WHY ME????

  5. I got flashed near my home a few weeks ago. Knowing the camera was there I went very slow…exactly the posted speed limit, if not a little under, and just as I passed I see a flash go off. I’m not sure if it was for me, or someone else, but I KNOW I was not speeding in any way. I’m not sure if I’ll get anything in the mail but I better not. This is despicable.

    • That happened to me on AZ-51. I was driving a loaner vehicle, so I’m not sure if they ever sent the ticket. I was going 2 MPH under the limit and no other cars were on the road.

      I guess they were just taking test shots to store in their date base. Great. Thanks Janet. Thanks AZ State Legislature! When do the lawsuits start already?

  6. photoradarscam says:

    Widow of photo radar van shooting victim blames DPS, particularly the practice of impersonating an officer:
    http://www.courthousenews.com/2010/04/27/26748.htm

  7. Stacey says:

    I am more than sure that crazy woman who got mad about all the people honking when they saw us loved the sound of that alarm and generator.

  8. Phil says:

    1) Watch red light cameras when a funeral procession goes by, a legal running of a red light that still takes photos.

    2) I have been stopped at empty intersections at night, seeing repeated flashes. This is a common thing, so I am not surprised at the video.

    3) The flashes at night also cause temporary blindness, making them a road hazzard.

    4) So far I have been lucky enough to avoid accidents, due to people slowing and even hitting breaks when they see the cameras; another road hazzard, thanks to the photo radar/hidden tax crowd.

  9. soon to be banned says:

    Malfunctions!
    Hahaha! I think ya’ll just let some redflex employees make fools out of yourselves! I’da like to seen the laugh on their faces when they were taking test shots, watching your reactions! Hundreds of shots?! oh please… And of course they don’t need test shots of ya’ll, but I’m sure just taking pictures of ya’ll to see your tinfoil hats glow was entertaining!
    And ya, no duh those things miss speeding cars once and awhile… I’m pretty sure they get put on pause once and awhile to do maintenance.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for you blog, it is very helpful for me. Keep go on! I will visit your blog every day. If you like handbags, please visit our website: handtaschen günstig

  11. how to get a free guitar

    Surprise! Photo Radar Trailer Malfunctions Caught on Video | CameraFRAUD.com – The Cameras are Coming Down

Leave a comment