Cleveland Ohio Camera Removal Team


Cities all over the country are pushing for scamera bans. Next on the list is Cleveland, OH. The Camera Removal Team is aiming to get photo ticketing on the city ballot.

They have 3 weeks to get the required signatures, but in a city as big as Cleveland, the job can certainly be done in short order. Suburbs, Euclid and Garfield Heights have already done so and will get to vote the scameras out.

Here is a copy of their Press Release

If you know anyone in the Cleveland area that would want to get involved, please contact media@camerafraud.com

13 Responses to Cleveland Ohio Camera Removal Team

  1. Sure says:

    Love that name.

  2. Seems like Redflex should be assembling their own “Camera Removal Team” for the freeways in AZ.

  3. photoradarscam says:

    It sure is nice to drive on the freeways again. Nice free-flowing traffic, and I can relax while I drive without a mask and without hiding behind my sun visor. Thank you Jan Brewer!

    • Butihave Nothingto Worryabout says:

      I dont think so. I am starting to see people drive without regard and speed to the extreme now…
      The CAMERAS WILL BE BACK!!!

  4. photoradarscam says:

    So when will start a “Camera Bagging Team?” DPS shouldn’t mind if we all go put bags over the cameras since they’re not using them anymore, right?

  5. ray says:

    Let’s see; the fixed sites are gone; the signs telling driver’s that cameras are ahead are gone, AND
    the 10 mph buffer is gone according to DPS…if you’re 1 mph over they could cite you. Dps has said you don’t know where they will be and their officers are trained to cite for 1 mph over the limit and will. And instead of it just being a civil violation, the points are back and I’ll bet they will rack up quick with this increased enforcement. Bet you won’t be able to talk your way out of the citations now.

    • photoradarscam says:

      FYI, DPS testified in a transportation comittee hearing that under 11mph over, an officer has discretion whether to give you a ticket. Over 11mph, they MUST issue a ticket. That policy may have changed, but I doubt it.

    • LoneWolf says:

      I had a DPS patrol right behind me yesterday. I was driving about 4 mph over the limit and they passed on by me with no lights or sirens. I’m sure they have bigger fish to fry than to nail speeders doing 1 – 5mph over the limit (except when it comes time to make the quota).

    • guttersn1pe says:

      The people threatening cites for 1 mph over the limit are not the people who are out patrolling the highways. If anyone actually gets a ticket for 1 mph over, I’d love to hear about it. If that’s the biggest concern of DPS – then I feel very safe here in the valley. Fortunately, most DPS officers use a common-sense approach to traffic enforcement, which includes discretion to issue warnings.

  6. Sure says:

    Listen, Ray, just go the speed limit and you won’t have anything to worry about. Going 11mph over the limit is breaking the law.

  7. Sure says:

    From Phoenix Businees Journal:

    Some of the equipment, such as roadway sensors, may remain in place permanently, and Gov. Jan Brewer may pitch the idea during the next legislative session to have voters decide whether the cameras should return.

    http://phoenix.bizjournals.com/phoenix/stories/2010/07/19/story7.html?b=1279512000%5E3660101&s=industry&i=logistics_transportation

  8. I have an idea for DPS. How about working to make the roads safer by targeting “Dangerous Driving” and “criminals” instead of some meaningless benchmark.

    THEN, when they run the plate of someone who’s weaving in and out of traffic, they might find that it’s a stolen vehicle or the driver has a suspended license etc.

    Or they can pull over someone going 56 in a 55, make a few bucks and move on to the next.

    We’ll find out soon what DPS thinks is important, because for the last two years, money has been the only thing period.

  9. Brett says:

    @Sure: If I’m breaking the law, then there should be an officer who follows the proper procedure. I should also not be denied Due Process to defend myself as in a true criminal proceeding.
    Case in point. I got a ticket from one of the cameras in Cleveland in my mothers car. When I called them and sent them the information to transfer into my name they ignored it and then refused to cite me rather than my mother. Now this is on some form of my mothers record for a “crime” she didn’t commit. The system is simply fraught with problems.

Leave a Reply

