Smile! You’re on CameraFRAUD.com (Part 2)


Who Watches the Watchers?

We do.

Our first friend was spotted on the 1-10 Westbound near 59th Ave (first four pictures), and immediately tried to hide behind a small sheet of paper before giving up and trying to phone home to his supervisor at Fraud Central.

Our second buddy was located on the US-60 near the Loop 202, who hilariously tried to wrap himself in the foil that you see in the back seat after the last two pictures were taken. Apparently unaware that mere civilians also have cameras, he proceeded to lock the doors and roll up the windows as our pictures started snapping.

29 Responses to Smile! You’re on CameraFRAUD.com (Part 2)

  1. RPr says:

    participation in Fraud is a crime.

  2. jim says:

    awesome that is the best ever i always thought it would be funny to take pics of the guys in the vans and see what they thought about it

  3. John Moore says:

    Once upon a few years ago, I spotted a Paradise Valley van, parked and walked over to talk to the guy. He was a retired cop and happily showed me the thing in action and explained all about it and answered all my questions (as an engineer with some background in radar, that was really interesting). You never know what will happen when you just ask.

    Nonetheless, the damn things have gotta go.

  4. DG says:

    You know if we all start taking pictures of these a:@&;$/a in the vans, then another law will soon be on the books making it illegal to take such pictures.

  5. Richard says:

    Bravo i’m just wondering though did you stick around for his backup or did you flee to find the next scam van? Surprised you got such close up pictures though.

  6. mighty1 says:

    Real mature guys. I see you have nothing better to do with your time. Hopefully one of them will run your sorry asses over.

  7. jgunn says:

    Someone should start a website like the mugshots for DUI offenders with the photo scam van operators. Something like http://www.scamvanmugshots.com. They want to take pictures of the AZ public, lets return the favor.

  8. photoradarscam says:

    Gotta love the irony. Funny, they want to take pictures of you, but they seem to dislike having their photo taken.

  9. dgpjr777 says:

    Only thing is they are not breaking the law.

  10. jgunn says:

    Are you sure Redflex isn’t breaking any laws? I have heard otherwise.

    1.
    Arizona Speed Camera Van Pulled Over for DUI
    Speed camera van busted for DUI in Scottsdale, Arizona.

    Roderick RuffinA speed camera van driver in Scottsdale, Arizona was arrested Saturday at 6:30pm, accused of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI). A retired police officer spotted Roderick Ruffin, 53, driving erratically on Scottsdale Road and dialed 911. Ruffin had been behind the wheel of an official van registered to the Australian photo radar contractor Redflex Traffic Systems and was headed toward Tempe about to begin issuing automated speeding tickets to other motorists on that city’s behalf.

    2.
    Arizona Secretary of State Jan Brewer last week confirmed that documents used to convict motorists of speeding in Lafayette, Louisiana contained elements that had been falsified. Brewer revoked the license of Cheryl Krough, notary public for photo enforcement vendor Redflex after concluding that she violated four Arizona laws while purporting to certify a speed camera deployment form for use in official hearings.

    3.

    A local business dispute is heading for the U.S. District Court of Arizona as American Traffic Solutions Inc. presses its claim that Redflex Traffic Systems Inc. knowingly used illegal radar units.

    The lawsuit, filed in November, claims Redflex rolled out two radar systems for speed-enforcement cameras in the U.S. that had not received approval from the Federal Communications Commission.

  11. mighty1 says:

    Jgunn, do you think that everyone in favor of this web-site is law abiding and have never broken the law? You people say that the cameras have problems, you don’t think that they have the kinks worked out of it by now. The radar guns Officers use, you think they work 100% all the time?
    It amazes me the people that complain about something like this just so they can speed around the city. Granted I do not like getting tickets as the next person, but after I got one I slowed down. Since cameras have come around I find myself driving the speed limit. So as far as all your complaints I would say do the same.

  12. jgunn says:

    Everone breaks speeding laws everyday. You bet we are against cameras trying to catch people at an opportune moment when they forget for a millisecond to slow down to a 10mph drop in speed. To assume that camera opponents want to be able to zoom around Phoenix at 100MPH is a textbook strawman argument. Look, the cameras are ridiculously easy to defeat and those who love speeding would more likely support them since it makes it easier to speed. Cops on the side of the road with radar or laser are 100X more scary than a fixed speed cam or a well marked van. Definition of a strawman argument

    The Straw Man fallacy is committed when a person simply ignores a person’s actual position and substitutes a distorted, exaggerated or misrepresented version of that position. This sort of “reasoning” has the following pattern:

    1. Person A has position X. (person A being an opponent of camera enforcement)
    2. Person B presents position Y (which is a distorted version of X). (Person B is a camera defender and assumes that camera opponents want to drive around at 150MPH around town)
    3. Person B attacks position Y. (speed camera defenders attack speed camera opponents based on #2)
    4. Therefore X is false/incorrect/flawed. (Speed camera defenders assume all speed camera haters are law hating 100mph+ speeding dangerous teenagers)

    This sort of “reasoning” is fallacious because attacking a distorted version of a position simply does not constitute an attack on the position itself. One might as well expect an attack on a poor drawing of a person to hurt the person.

  13. photoradarscam says:

    Mighty1, camera enforcement has been around for decades, and the systems are still faulty. visit http://photoradarscam.com/malfunctions.php for plenty of examples.

    The bottom line is, if you are going to automate law enforcement, your system needs to be 100% foolproof and error free and it must catch ALL classes of violators equally. The facts remain that:
    1. Cameras do not identify the violator beyond the shadow of a doubt.
    2. Cameras malfunction and do so quite often
    3. Cameras enforcement automatically gives a pass to: vehicles registered to corporations, out of state vehicles, out of country vehicles, out of date regsitrations, and on and on.

    For a full list, visit http://photoradarscam.com/summary.php

    We the people of the USA do not deserve and should not tolerate a system that is this limited and problematic (in addition to the judicial process violations we’re currently seeing).

  14. Joe says:

    I myself was just snapped by a van during a rather “momentary lapse” on Southbound 17 while driving my wife’s car. The speed limit changes on different stretches of this road, and is different between northbound and southbound. I’m confident that had I been drving next to an actual police officer during that time, he probably would not have pulled me over. I can’t wait to post pictures of my burned initial mail notification.

  15. Mark S says:

    I think someone should drive through the RedFlex parking lot with a video camera and take a picture of every license plate/car in that lot and publish it on the internet somewhere. Would be interesting to see what would happen then.

    Also, does anyone have a list of license plate numbers assigned to these samera units?

  16. Andy Voss says:

    Notice the locked door in the bottom right picture…I wonder if employees have gotten threats? haha

  17. Sam says:

    “mighty1 Says:
    January 1, 2009 at 7:32 pm
    Jgunn, do you think that everyone in favor of this web-site is law abiding and have never broken the law? You people say that the cameras have problems, you don’t think that they have the kinks worked out of it by now. The radar guns Officers use, you think they work 100% all the time?
    It amazes me the people that complain about something like this just so they can speed around the city. Granted I do not like getting tickets as the next person, but after I got one I slowed down. Since cameras have come around I find myself driving the speed limit. So as far as all your complaints I would say do the same.”

    Ahh…slave mentality. Do as you’re told. Please, go back to California, Minnesota or Michigan and your police state, total-control mentality. Arizonans don’t want it here.

    I’d rather have a police officer with the wisdom and judgment to know who is endangering the public, than a camera who is unable to tell the difference.

  18. I'm Back says:

    Sam,
    I feel like we live in a Police State already. Please tell me that we don’t and why. It makes me want to leave the place that I grew up, graduated from college and almost all my friends and family live.

    Thank goodness for the supporters of this websites and other similar pursuits that focus on preserving our freedom and limiting government interference. That is what the spirit of Arizona is all about and in 10 short years, it’s been stripped away.

    A friend of mine just got pulled over for the license plate frame law on Friday. The fine is $135. $135!!!! Does that punishment fit the crime? We have some serious sh*t to clean up in our state and city governments.

    OK, trolls, it’s time to come back and tell me that everything is fine, it’s all for safety, slow down, make sure the cameras won’t be obstructed if they want to take a picture of you, etc, etc, etc. Anytime is fine. I’ll check back in a few hours.

    For the record, I do not have a license plate frame and I got a photo radar ticket 3 years ago that I paid.

  19. Sam says:

    “Sam,
    I feel like we live in a Police State already. Please tell me that we don’t and why. It makes me want to leave the place that I grew up, graduated from college and almost all my friends and family live.”

    Because my assault rifles are still legal. Because my handguns are still legal, and I can carry them openly OR concealed in public without harassment by law enforcement. Because I can use my firearms in defense of my home in Arizona without worrying about if I’ll go to prison for protecting my family.

    Why are these statements regarding firearms pertinent to the conversation, you ask? Because a police-state would rip them away from you the first chance they got, and would make YOU, the law abiding citizen, the criminal. Look at California, New York, Minnesota, and Michigan for starters….perfect examples.

    No, Arizona isn’t a police-state, yet. Those of us who absolutely abhor photo-radar and love freedom are trying to keep it that way by pulling those suckers DOWN. If you ever see that they DO start banning stuff, then we’ll be heading down that road.

  20. I'm Back says:

    Good point. Thanks.

  21. Joe says:

    Wow, 15 bucks an hour. Sign me up! I never knew that having prior law enforcement experience could be so lucrative!

    http://www.careerbuilder.com/JobSeeker/Jobs/JobDetails.aspx?IPath=CJR&APath=2.21.0.0.0&job_did=J8A66P78TW2HW77JQ9W

  22. Doc says:

    mighty (WEAK)1-I’ve NEVER gotten my photo taken by one of these infernal machines. I DO obey the law. My friends get so annoyed w/me because I “drive like a granny”…ALL too true. The reason I am so vehemently against red light & speed scameras is simply, I’m an AMERICAN! We all now know the REAL reason these scameras are around. Big Brother is watching…only this ain’t “1984”. In China, N.Korea, Iran, etc., the government can do whatever it wants because those people started allowing it, long ago. Once you give people of little or no character a single millimeter, they’ll take a country mile! You can bet your ass that those people NOW regret it.

    In THE UNITED STATES of AMERICA however, we don’t have to put up with that type of invasion of privacy shit. Publically elected officials AND Law Enforcement officers are OUR employees, not th’ other way around. If the constabulary wants to cite me for an infraction of the law, they need to have a sworn law enforcement officer, who was there on the scene & actually saw me break the law, stand right there & cite me. Otherwise, have a nice day. It NEVER WAS about “speeding through town at 100mph”…DUMMY! That’s like saying the U.S. civil war was about slavery. If you don’t KNOW what you’re talking about, then why don’t you have yourself a nice, tall, cool glass of shut th’ f*ck up.

    Personally, I really like Mark S’s idea of cruisin’ thru th’ aussie’s (redflex) & th’ TRAITOR’s (ATS) parking lots & snappin pix of their employees’ lic. plates…then postin’ THOSE on th’ WORLD WIDE WEB! Now THAT’S a Great Idea! I’d like to ammend it by suggesting that we ALL do it, 1 or 2 @ a time, so there’s hundreds of pictures of these employees’ plates. There’s a big effect in numbers. As D.(icks)P.(ricks)S.(luts)…can but won’t attest to. Doc from Prescott

  23. j says:

    someone told me they have gated parking lots with armed security gaurds. wonder if that is true?

  24. SgL says:

    Please Advise !
    I have recieved my second notice for a radar speeding ticket. The second notice did not show a late fee for the $181 fine, however, it did list at COURT date and time if I wanted to dispute the ticket. Is it possible to give a court date to someone without serving them personally ?
    PLEASE – does anyone know what will happen if I ignore the second notice for the ticket ? I have not paid because I am practicing civil disobedience, but do not want the fee to become astronomical or have a warrant for my arrest because of it.
    Please ADVISE!!

  25. Mike K says:

    Important Points About Tickets Received in the Mail:
    *Photo Radar Citations Must Be Served To You by a Court Appointed person.
    *The Citation can Only be Served to a Resident of the household.
    *If you do not reply the citations sent to you in the mail Nothing Will Happen to you.
    *They will attempt to send you 3 mail notices/citations.
    *The only problem with not paying the mail ticket is a possible increase in the fine.

    Summary: If you receive a citation in the mail, don’t pay the fine. If a court appointed person Serves you the citation personally, you must pay it or dispute it.

    These are All Common Facts about this bogus system.

  26. Marc C says:

    I set my cruise control at the exact speed limit and have been flashed by the vans twice in the last week. Not sure if I will actually receive tickets. Of course if I do it’s my word against the state? DOES anyone have experience with avoiding the new camera tickets? I can attest to the fact that the red light camera tickets, if you are lucky enough to avoid them for 120 days or so from your violation it will just go away. However they literally stake out your house like they did to me and eventually catch you coming or going. I don’t think the cameras have been up long enough for anyone to have a ticket 120+ days ago yet but can you email me or post if you successfully beat one of these tickets by ignoring them. I have heard…”THEY SAY” YA KNOW… that these new tickets are somehow attached to your registration and they will not let you register your car when it expires until the tickets are paid? If this is the case it is time to move away from AZ when it is time to register the car again.

  27. A VERY UPSET CITIZEN says:

    Do you have spare money to support the state ?
    I don’t .
    Are you getting paid enough to pay rent,ASP,another rip off,Cox,cildren food, now you have to add the state in your budget.
    DO YOU HAVE MONEY TO WASTE IN A FRAUD CALL SAFETY.
    This is one of the many money deals politians make as long as they get money,who cares about the every day citizen. DO YOU WONDER HOW MUCH MONEY NAPOLITANO MADE OUT OF THIS DEAL?SHE SHOULD PAY MY TICKET.
    SHE HAS TWO HOUSES,ONE HERE AND WHO IS PAYING FOR THIS PLACE WHILE SHE IS PLAYING TOP NOTCH?

  28. radarhunter says:

    Despite the claims of companies that sell ticket cameras and provide related services, there are no independent statistics or studies that photo enforcement devices improve highway safety, reduce overall accidents, or improve traffic flow. Believing the claims of companies that sell photo enforcement equipment is like believing any other commercial company trying to sell you something.

    Radarhunter
    http://www.radarhunter.com
    Your Photo Radar Resource

Leave a Reply

