Seeing Red


The photo enforcement zone (PEZ) at I-17 eastbound approaching 16th Street seems to be “special.” The front camera, responsible for taking face pictures, seems to have a red filter over the flash unit.

We’re not sure if this is because the 1-17 is a flight path for incoming planes at Sky Harbor (thus blinding approaching pilots), or if the flash color is being experimented with to enhance infrared photography— something which may assist DPSRedflex in scamming motorcyclists who have tinted visors and those who might hide behind thin masks.

Unfortunately, still no word on if Redflex has developed a device to automatically remove post-it notes from their camera lenses.

22 Responses to Seeing Red

  1. phenician says:

    Filters manufactured for cameras, to shoot infra-red, appear black, not red. However a plain red filter might conceivably offer better results for shooting faces through windshields.

  2. Jason Mann says:

    Soon they’ll have post it note wipers I found a total of 34 speed camera installations & have them recorded in my gps now. Not including the inactive scottsdale scameras.

  3. James says:

    The scamera on I-10 westbound right before the 101 has red filters also, its the only one going west that I have noticed them on

  4. James says:

    could just be a glare filter experiment so they do not have to tweak the flash unit.

  5. Pickupman04 says:

    I noticed this today as well on the eastbound i-10 around 59th ave

  6. ScameraActivist says:

    Do You mean the 1-10. The 1-17 runs North and South and dosen’t intersect with 16th St as far as I know

  7. Dan says:

    Nope. Guys, this is about $$$$. In that context, it’s obvious that this is a test to see what makes the highest # of night photos identifiable.

  8. camerafraud says:

    Sorry, comments got held in queue on this thread for some strange reason. Everything back to normal now.

  9. dgpjr777 says:

    Don’t drive like idiots and you have nothing to worry about. I still do not see why everone is complaining.People need to slow down and if this helps so be it.

  10. ad8bc says:

    It’s a basic argument about rights, and liberty dgpjr777. You want a camera in your home watching you, oh, I don’t know…

  11. camerafraud says:

    ScameraActivist,

    You’re right…

    It’s the I-17, but is technically 1-17 southbound, during the curve where it actually goes east-west between 19th Ave and the 1-10.

    Sorry for the confusion!

  12. Dan says:

    dgpjr777 – yes people should do the speed limit. That is not the argument. Our rights are violated when we cannot face our accusers in court. Not to mention, I got nabbed DOING THE SPEED LIMIT!!! I was passed by another car right at the same point of the camera. So don’t think like an idiot that all you have to do is ‘slow down’ and everything will be ok.

  13. Ross from Redflex says:

    Don’t worry complainers, the camera glitches should be fixed some time by mid ’09. That’s assuming you all pay your tickets.

    PS. I stopped on the side of the road to lean on my horn next to an ATS van. I hate those guys. It was fun!! I think he was drinking, but I couldn’t really tell. I’m still not sure what happened to the redflex guy that was DUI. He was a boob anyway.

    Until next time, TOOLS!!!!

  14. guttersn1pe says:

    I don’t actually believe the red filter has anything to do with photo quality. I watched someone get flashed by the camera on EB 101@35th Ave and the red flash isn’t nearly as bright as the regular flash. Redflex would probably argue it’s for “safety”. I think it’s to provide less warning to drivers who are still several hundred yards from the speed trap. I know my reaction to the flash is to slow down. They can’t have that now, can they.

  15. Graham says:

    The mobile van that parks on I-17 N at the curve is becoming a regular fixture. As I take that bend in the morning, I like to put on my high beams and sweep the bugger as I turn north.

    Also, what about the idiot in the van who decided to park on the shoulder around I-17 and Northern a couple of days ago (maybe yesterday)? Surely he was a traffic hazard. That was about as dumb as taking a walk on the hard shoulder.

  16. phenician says:

    “Obey the speed limit” is just a reflexive, unthinking appeal to obey authority generally. The fact is, speed limits are supposed to be _for the public good._ And this means that they should reflect the driving habits of the majority of people on the highway. If the vast majority of drivers exceeds a speed limit, the limit is too low and should be raised. A minority can still drive more slowly if they so wish.

  17. pronk says:

    Saw this red flash on the 15th. Did anyone figure out what it is yet? Kinda wiggin out about it. I was doin 65mph and Im not sure if the speed had turned to 55 yet. Should I be expecting a letter?

  18. Derek says:

    The DPS camera website above indicates that the photo units at the ‘curve’ at 15th Avenue and 16th Street WB and EB are not yet active. What gives?

  19. me says:

    Turns out the red filter is because of their proximity to the airport. Oh my god, that screams of fraud…..
    I saw a piece of airconditioning duct on the 202 today, or maybe it was a ufo, ya’ll should check it out, could be some kinda fraud….

  20. Redflex Corporate says:

    Hey “me,”

    Looks like those radar units have fried your brain. Try pointing them AT the traffic, not yourself. Time is money!

    And stop drooling on the equipment!

  21. Austin says:

    I got a red flash by one of your cameras while in town for a trade show. I looked down and I was going the speed limit, MAYBE plus one. I had just been passed by a fast car that changed lanes into the slow lane in front of me, but I don’t see how the camera could have been taking anyone’s picture but mine.

    If the rental car company tracks me down, I’m gonna be pissed.

Leave a Reply

